For the Love of Paella

Just another WordPress.com site

Healthy Cheesesteaks

I am notoriously bad about meal planning.  Oh, I make the lists.  At the time I think they’re amazing and I can’t wait to eat everything on there, but after cooking the first thing on there I get bored.  I suddenly want nothing I had planned.  Observe this week.  On the menu I had Honey Mustard Chicken and Sweet Potatoes, Shrimp Fettucini Alfredo, and Pressed Ham, Pear, and Gruyere Sandwiches with Tomato Orange Soup.  When it came time to make any one of those three I hemmed and hawed.  I didn’t want to make the sandwiches because I was waiting for Rosemary Cheddar Potato Bread (an upcoming post) and I hadn’t made it yet.  The other two just sounded meh to me.  By lunchtime on Friday I was refusing to make any of them, and was searching for something that would go well with my sudden craving for frozen steak fries.*

(*If you’re going to read this blog I think I’d better mention that I get random cravings for food regularly.  I will change entire plans to support these cravings, usually at the last minute.)

Introduce our friend, the cheesesteak.  I cannot remember the last time I ordered on in a restaurant even though I love them so.  This has more to do with my need to control ingredients and wish for healthy food than anything.  My husband, on the other hand, orders them everywhere.  Without vegetables.  Vegetables, you see, do not die in pain and are therefore unacceptable food items.  I joke, but the fact of the matter remains he likes very few veggies, none of which are found on a cheesesteak sandwich.

I decided that a cheesesteak was exactly what I needed, full of peppers, onions, and mushrooms.  The husband could eat around them if he really wanted to.  Much to my surprise he only picked out the mushrooms and tried valiantly to eat the peppers an onions.  I do believe I’m rubbing off on him.  Today peppers, tomorrow tofu!

The recipe I used was from an old Cooking Light.  I’ve had it in my YummySoup (a TERRIFIC recipe collector for macs.  I highly recommend it.) for ages, but it took me this long to get around to making it.  I regret waiting so long and I have a feeling I may actually make this one again.

Steak and Cheese Sandwiches with Mushrooms
Adapted from March 2008’s Cooking Light (recipe can also be found online here.)

Yield: 4 sandwiches

Ingredients

1 teaspoon olive oil
1 large onion, sliced
2 large green peppers, sliced thinly
3 cloves minced garlic
1 cup sliced mushrooms
1 pound top round steak, trimmed and cut into thin strips
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
4 ounces of sliced reduced-fat provolone cheese, cut in half  (about a slice and a half)
4 (2 1/2-ounce) hoagie rolls

Directions
1. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion, bell pepper, and garlic to pan; sauté 3 minutes. Add mushrooms to pan; sauté 4 minutes. Sprinkle beef with salt and black pepper. Add beef to pan; sauté 3 minutes or until browned, stirring occasionally. Stir in Worcestershire sauce; cook 1 minute.

2. Place 1 cheese slice half on bottom half of each roll, and top each serving with one-fourth of beef mixture. Top with remaining cheese slice halves and tops of rolls.

Serve with steak fries.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

